2022 Reserves Premiership

Sturt claimed its first Reserves premiership in five years on the back of a slick first half as it eclipsed North Adelaide by 31 points in the Grand Final at Adelaide Oval – 

The Double Blues kicked 7 of the first 8 goals of the contest to effectively shut the door on the Roosters after leading by 29 points at half-time. Dashing half-back Mihail Lochowiak set the tone for Chris Trapp’s charges, booting the opening goal of the game from just inside 50 metres en route to winning the Bob Lee Medal as best afield. Lochowiak, who was playing alongside his brothers Anzac and Jacob, finished with 22 disposals, 10 marks, 5 tackles and 6 rebound 50s. Fellow backman Charlie Fryer was incredibly disciplined for Sturt, keeping North’s late inclusion Tyson Brazel, squeezed out of the League team, to just 1 mark and 2 handballs as his side won its first Reserves title since 2017. Blues ruckman Amos Doyle got things rolling inside the centre square, racking up 31 hit outs while collecting 15 disposals and 4 clearances while goalsneak Blake Tabe made the most of his chances to kick 3 goals from 8 disposals. North, seeking its first Reserves flag since 2018, was well served by Jared Deep with a game-high 27 possessions and 9 marks while Declan Fahey and Lam Simon each had 20 disposals. Rooster Matthew Longbottom battled hard for 17 touches, 6 clearances and 10 tackles but ultimately his side was wasteful in front of goal, booting an inaccurate 4.10 (34) while having just one less scoring shot than Sturt.

Premiership Team


Team 1st Quarter 2nd Quarter 3rd Quarter 4th Quarter
North Adelaide 1.2-8 1.4-10 2.8-20 4.10-34
Sturt 3.2-20 6.3-39 8.4-52 10.5-65
Best Players:
M.Lochowiak, C.Fryer, M.Liddy, W.Crane, B.Powell
Goal Kickers:
B.Tabe 3, J.Hein 2, B.Jefferies 2, T.Hone 1, J.Lochowiak 1, M.Lochowiak 1
Premiership Team
Forward: T.Hone A.Lochowiak J.Hein
Half Forward: A.Trenorden B.Tabe S.Phipps-Parsons
Centre: D.How H.Wingard W.Crane
Half Back: N.Walter (C) Z.Becker C.Fryer
Back: W.Taylor R.Grundy B.Powell
Ruck: A.Doyle M.Liddy B.Jefferies
Interchange: M.Lochowiak C.Reschke J.Lochowiak
Coach: C.Trapp