1915 Premiership

Team 1st Quarter 2nd Quarter 3rd Quarter 4th Quarter
Sturt 2.1-13 3.5-23 6.7-43 6.10-46
Port Adelaide 3.1-19 3.4-22 4.5-29 4.10-34

Best Players
B.Mayman, B.Noal, H.Rayner, I.Nicolle, C.Ryan, D.McDougall
V.Richardson, J.Kappler, F.Golding, T.Richardson, C.Curnow
Goal Kickers
B.Noal 5, H.Hicks 1
Best on Ground
13,043 (Adelaide Oval)

Premiership Team
Forward: T.Richardson L.Smith J.Kappler
Half-Forward: H.Rayner F.Golding A.Limb
Centre: E.McNamara B.Mayman H.Bruce
Half-Back: P.Edwards V.Richardson C.Sharp
Back: C.Ryan D.McDougall H.Hicks
Ruck: C.Curnow I.Nicolle B.Noal

Match Report
Sturt faced Port Adelaide again in the 1915 Grand Final, the second Grand Final appearance for the club and a chance to forget the loss to the Magpies in 1910. Port were favourites to win and were playing in their third consecutive Grand Final, but Sturt got off to a great start scoring an early goal. The game ebbed and flowed with Port in front by only a goal at quarter time, but in the second quarter the Blues held the Magpies goal less and went into the half time break with a 1 point lead. The young Sturt side took control of the game in the third quarter kicking 3 goals and taking a 14 point lead into the last break. No goals were kicked in the last quarter and Sturt held strong and won their first Premiership by 12 points. Better players were Captain-Coach Bill Mayman in the centre, rover Bill Noal who kicked an amazing 5.5 out of Sturt’s total score of 6.10, half forward Howard Rayner in his only ever game for the club, ruck rover Ivor Nicolle, back pocket Clarrie Ryan and full back Doug McDougall.