2020 Men’s Leadership Group Announced

James Battersby has been named the 44th Men’s League Captain of Sturt Football Club after being voted by the players and endorsed by Senior Coach Nathan Grima and the Board.

Grima said, “The Football Department always knew that Battersby had the qualities to lead the Club. This has been more apparent over this pre-season after the retirement of several senior players at the end of last season.

“Batts will be supported by Guy Page as Vice-Captain and Zane Kirkwood who has stepped down as Captain to mentor the next generation of Club leaders.”

Grima praised Kirkwood who became Captain in 2015 and led the Club to two premierships under his leadership in 2016 and 2017.

“Kirkwood is pure quality both on and off the field. The respect he has with the playing group, staff, officials, and supporters is extraordinary. We cannot thank Kirky enough for leading the Club to success and we are so pleased that the next generation of Club leaders has him around to guide them.”

A seven-man leadership group is made up of James Battersby (C), Guy Page (VC), Sam Colquhoun, Matthew Crocker, Dean Gore, Tom Harms and Steven Slimming.